Who are the Bolton General Election 2019 candidates?

All the Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat, Brexit Party, Green Party and other and independent candidates standing in Bolton West, Bolton South East and Bolton North East Parliamentary constituencies.The candidates hoping to win a seat in one of Bolton’s parliamentary constituencies in this year’s General Election have been announced.The polls will open on Thursday December 12 with voters getting the chance to put a cross next to who they want to represent them as their MP in Parliament .In Bolton, voters will be electing MPs for the Bolton West, Bolton South East, Bolton North East and Bolton East Parliamentary constituencies.

Bolton North East

Although traditionally a Labour stronghold, Bolton North East is also home to the Conservative heartlands of Bromley Cross, Bradshaw and Astley Bridge.

Sir David Crausby has represented the area since 1997, and the veteran MP is seeking election for the seventh time in December. The Conservatives made the seat one of their top targets in 2017, and it was the first stop on Theresa May’s campaign trail. They lost by almost 4,000 votes in the end, but will have an eye on it once more after taking control of Bolton Council for the first time in four decades earlier this year.

  • David Crausby – Labour
  • Warren Fox – Liberal Democrats
  • Trevor Jones – Brexit Party
  • Mark Logan – Conservative Party
  • Liz Spencer – Green Party

Bolton West

Retaining Bolton West will be one of the Conservatives’ top priorities in the region on December 12. A marginal seat that has returned both Labour and Tory MPs in the past, it has been held by the latter since Chris Green was elected in 2015.

An ardent Brexiteer, he hung on by less than 1,000 votes at the last election. His closest rival on that occasion, Julie Hilling, is set to stand again and is a familiar face to voters, having been the constituency’s MP between 2010 and 2015. She may have her work cut out winning votes in Horwich and Blackrod, though, where grassroots party Horwich & Blackrod First seized several seats from Labour at this year’s council election.

  • Rebecca Forrest – Liberal Democrats
  • Chris Green – Conservative Party
  • Paris Hayes – Green Party
  • Julie Hilling – Labour Party

Bolton South East

Labour will face bigger challenges than in Bolton South East, a seat they have won comfortably since it was created 36 years ago. Incumbent Yasmin Qureshi is looking to retain her seat once more, having represented the area since 2010. However, the success of Farnworth and Kearsley First in recent council elections hints at growing discontent towards Labour.

It’s unlikely the grassroots party will field a candidate in December – its focus being mostly on council matters – but the growing feeling that the area is being overlooked and ignored could see the Conservatives or the Brexit Party making it a closer race than before.

  • Mark Cunningham – Brexit Party
  • David Figgins – Green Party
  • Johno Lee – Conservative Party
  • Yasmin Qureshi – Labour Party
  • Kev Walsh – Liberal Democrats

To vote all you need to do is go to a polling station – but it does have to be the location listed on your polling card.Once you arrive, just tell the staff your name and address and they will cross your name off the list and tell you what you need to do.

You will be asked to enter a booth, vote for the choice of candidate and place the paper in the ballot box.Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on the day, and are usually public buildings such as schools or local halls.

Thanks to the Manchester Evening News for the post:- https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/who-bolton-general-election-2019-17250012


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *